August 29th, 2010

25 Lap Omni Source Sprint Car Feature
1. 11w Chris Windom
2. 5g Justin Grant
3. 10 Shane Cottle
4. 53 Jon Stanbrough
5. 5e Bobby East
6. 4 Casey Shuman
7. 66 Josh Spencer
8. 58 Jamie Fredrickson
9. 76 JJ Hughes
10. 9 Kevin Thomas, Jr.
11. 83 Wes McIntyre
12. 3 Braylon Fitzpatrick
13. 42 Conner Donelson
14. 71 Chad Branson
15. 2 Brian Karraker
16. 20 Steve Thomas
17. 11b Mark Brucker
18. 16 Todd Kirkman

15 Lap Speed Queen Racing & Design Street Stock Feature
1. H0 Lee Hobbs
2. 9 Glen Gamblin
3. 8 David Hurst
4. 48 Travis Wolford
5. 00 Landon Miller
6. 13 Adam Heady
7. 6 Corey Gregory
8. 89 Bobby Burton
9. 5 Josh Hotsinpiller
10. 21 Jordan Almanza
11. 82 Milton Gibbs
12. 92 Scott Apple
13. 3w Craig Walker
14. 3n Eric Hunter
15. 11 Kaleb Nutter
16. 18 Kevin Kemp

20 Lap Hoosier Racing Tire UMP Modified Feature
1. 21 Nick Allen
2. 1 Devin Gilpin
3. 36 Jamie Lomax
4. 75 Derek Losh
5. 65 Todd Sherman
6. 69 Tommy Beezley
7. 24 Zeke McKenzie
8. 225 Jesse Bitterling
9. 13 Kevin DeYoung
10. 42 Justin Gregory
11. 7 Brad DeYoung
12. 92 Lynn Johns
13. 22 Kevin McCarty
14. 7 Mike Nelson
15. 9 Matt Hamilton
16. 00 John Hipps
17. 78c Clint DeMoss
18. 10 Brent Davis
19. 77 Bill Bradley
20. 60 Mike Martin
21. 78w Charlie Walden
DNS 5 Dylan Campbell

15 Lap Thunder Car Feature
1. 50 Jason Shrout
2. 215 Gerald Armfield
3. 44 Dave Fritz
4. 38 John Antoine
5. 622 Lana Jarvis
6. 86 Nick Glassburn
7. 7 Allen Davis
8. 28 David Atkins
9. 215a Paul Whitaker
10. 11 Nick Boyd
11. 13 Rick Paul
12. 14 Kris Workman
DNS 6 Junior Williams
DNS 32 Gary Blackburn
DNS 95 Jeremy Van Ness

Windom Whips Field
Hobbs, Shrout, Allen take wins; Windom and Hobbs secure titles

By Derek Fisher

When you hear someone say, “Things happen in threes,” the connotation is more often than not a negative one.

Chris Windom would tend to disagree with that idea.

The Canton, Ill. native brought home his third OmniSource sprint car feature win of 2010 at the Kokomo Speedway on Sunday night, wrapping up his first career track championship at the local oval in the process. The sprint car title comes on the heels of a stellar campaign that’s seen the 19-year-old shoe capture eight main events nationwide.

“[To win the Kokomo track championship] is awesome,” Windom said from the Crume-Evans Insurance / All-Star Performance / Kokomo Honda victory lane. “We’ve been in a slump the last month. I’ve got to thank [car owner] Jeff Walker for giving me a winning car. It’s always just a matter of whether I can put it in victory lane or not.”

There was little doubt on Sunday as to where Windom would end up at the conclusion of the 25-lap feature. After starting outside the front row Windom leapt to an early lead over Justin Grant and Shane Cottle, withstood a momentum-breaking lap two caution and set sail through heavy lapped traffic at times, never to be challenged.

Grant and Cottle provided the bulk of the race’s drama by battling for the runner-up spot for most of the event. Cottle stole second from the California driver by charging low out of turn four on lap eight, only to see Grant repay the maneuver on the 17th circuit. Grant eventually distanced himself from the Kokomo veteran in late-race traffic, and Cottle settled for third ahead of Jon Stanbrough and Bobby East.

“I’ve been coming here a long time,” said Walker, who previously was a driver and also won two Kokomo titles in the 1990s with Tony Elliott. “This is the nicest track around, and I’ve got to thank the O’Connor family for that. I’d also like to thank my dad, Don, for the work he puts in at the shop.”

The Speed Queen Racing & Design street stock series also crowned its winner a champion on Sunday night.

Lee Hobbs cemented the division championship by continuing his 2010 dominance, bagging his 11th victory of the year at the facility. Hobbs’ achievement is his second career Kokomo title, as the veteran driver also was the 2006 modified titlist.

Much like Windom, Hobbs was the class of the field in leading all 15 laps of the event. Starting from the pole, the Bedford driver turned away early advances from Travis Wolford and a late charge from David Hurst to secure the victory. Hurst appeared to have the place position tucked away until a lap-14 gaffe allowed Glen Gamblin to steal the spot.

Hurst, Wolford and Landon Miller rounded out the top five.

“The championship means a lot to me,” Hobbs said. “I have the other championship here, but I love my stock cars. It’s a long trip up here every week, but they always give us a good track and treat us fairly. That’s all you can ask.”

Jason Shrout continued his late-season hot streak in the thunder car class.

Shrout’s wire-to-wire win in Sunday’s 15-lapper was his fourth consecutive triumph, and fifth overall on the campaign. Shrout sits second to Gerald

Armfield in the points chase heading into Sunday’s Vince Osman Season Championship.

Shrout started on Sunday’s pole and benefitted from an intense battle for the second spot early on, opening up a large lead. After two lap three yellows erased his lead, Shrout again drove away from the field as Armfield gave chase ahead of David Fritz and Nick Glassburn. Glassburn exited with a flat tire on lap 10 after overtaking Armfield for second, producing a top five of Shrout, Armfield, Fritz, John Antoine and Lana Jarvis that would remain unchanged.

“I love racing here,” said Shrout. “It’s been a [heck] of a time.”

Nick Allen captured his second UMP modified A-main of the year on Sunday. He was followed by Devin Gilpin, Jamie Lomax, Derek Losh and Todd Sherman.